Patron Services: 858.550.1010

Tickets & Subscriptions
La Jolla Playhouse 2014 Gala
La Jolla Playhouse 2014 Gala

La Jolla Playhouse Annual Gala 2014

Thank you to our incredible donors for making the 2014 La Jolla Playhouse Gala an unprecedented success!

La Jolla Playhouse held its annual Gala on Saturday, March 29. This year’s theme was a celebration of 30 years of groundbreaking theatre since the Playhouse was reborn on the campus of UC San Diego. Sponsored by Qualcomm and DonorNation, the Gala proceeds will benefit the Playhouse’s education and new play development programs.

This glittering event, chaired once again by Debby Jacobs and emceed by Playhouse Artistic Director Christopher Ashley, featured entertainment by award-winning actors, who performed songs from favorite Playhouse productions over the past three decades, including Kimiko Glenn, star of the world-premiere Flaming Lips musical Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots; Melissa Hoff, from the Playhouse production of Zhivago; Tony Award nominee Chad Kimball, who originated the role of Huey Calhoun in the Tony-winning musical Memphis; Elizabeth Stanley and Max von Essen, stars of the hit Playhouse musical Xanadu; and Michael Benjamin Washington, the Tinman in Des McAnuff’s production of The Wiz and playwright for the 2014 DNA New Work Series workshop of Blueprints to Freedom: An Ode to Bayard Rustin. During the Gala, the Playhouse also honored renowned costume designer Paul Tazewell (Side Show, His Girl Friday, Memphis), who has designed costumes for ten Playhouse productions.

The evening began with a cocktail party in the Sheila and Hughes Potiker Theatre Lobby in the Joan and Irwin Jacobs Center for La Jolla Playhouse. Guests then enjoyed a specially-prepared dinner-by-the-bite menu, catered by Chef Jeffrey Strauss and Pamplemousse Grille. After dinner, a one-of-a-kind concert performance exploded on stage, featuring Glenn, Hoff, Kimball, Stanley, von Essen and Washington. The event was capped off with drinks and dancing to the hit band, The Mark.

» Click here to see photos of the 2014 Gala taken by Daniel Norwood!

Special thanks to our TITLE SPONSOR


and to

Donor Nation

A special thanks goes out to the Playhouse Gala wine hosts:
Paula Marie Black, Gail & Ralph Bryan, Lisa & David Casey, Debby & Hal Jacobs, Jeff Jacobs, Joan & Irwin Jacobs,
Sheri & Stuart Jamieson, Lynelle & Bill Lynch, Vivien & Jeffrey Ressler, Colette & Ivor Royston, Lise Wilson & Steve Strauss
and Marilyn & Michael Yeatts

Thank you for making this year’s Gala memorable!