Patron Services: 858.550.1010

About The Playhouse
Home About Us Playhouse Highlights
Playhouse Highlights

Under inspired leadership, La Jolla Playhouse has become the place to see what’s next on the American theatre landscape. The Playhouse’s brilliant and innovative productions of new plays and musicals, including 75+ world premieres, 44 commissions and 38 American or West Coast premieres, have merited over 300 major honors, including 35 Tony Awards for its 26 productions that have transferred to Broadway, along with the 1993 Tony Award for Outstanding Regional Theatre.

From Broadway to Moscow, a long list of Playhouse productions have gone on to other stages around the world. These include Roger Miller and William Hauptman's Big River, The Who's Tommy, Lee Blessing's A Walk in the Woods, How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying with Matthew Broderick, Tony Kushner's Slavs!, Lifegame, Lisa Kron's 2.5 Minute Ride, Jessica Hagedorn's Dogeaters, Randy Newman's Faust, the West Coast premiere of Rent, the American premiere of Jane Eyre, the world premiere of Thoroughly Modern Millie, Billy Crystal's 700 Sundays, the Pulitzer Prize-winning I Am My Own Wife – both developed as part of the Playhouse’s signature Page To Stage play development program – the Tony Award-winning musical Memphis now playing on London’s West End, Peter and the Starcatchers, as well as the currently running Tony Award-winning Broadway hit Jersey Boys. The Playhouse also presents a wide range of award-winning education programs that enrich the community and serve more than 30,000 children, students and adults each year.

La Jolla Playhouse was founded in 1947 by Gregory Peck, Dorothy McGuire and Mel Ferrer, and was revived in 1983 under the leadership of Des McAnuff, who served as Artistic Director from 1983 to 1994. McAnuff was succeeded by Michael Greif, who served as Artistic Director from 1995 to 1999. The theatre is currently led by Artistic Director Christopher Ashley and Managing Director Michael S. Rosenberg.

Under Ashley’s leadership, the Playhouse has launched several new programs, including the Without Walls series of site-based and immersive work, the DNA New Work Series and the Resident Theatre Program.

The Playhouse is a not-for-profit, professional theatre in residence situated on the magnificent campus of the University of California, San Diego. La Jolla Playhouse is located on the corner of La Jolla Village Drive and Torrey Pines Road in La Jolla, California.

La Jolla Playhouse wishes to thank The Artistic Directors' Circle and the 2014/2015 Season Sponsors for their generous support: Joan & Irwin Jacobs, Sheri L. & Stuart W. Jamieson, Becky Moores, Dr. Seuss Fund at the San Diego Foundation, City of San Diego Commission for Arts and Culture, Qualcomm, The Shubert Foundation, DonorNation, Gurtin Fixed Income, Paula Marie Black, Uma & Vinit Bodas, Faiya Fredman, Lynelle & William Lynch, Vivien & Jeffrey Ressler, Steven Strauss & Lise Wilson, Mandell Weiss Charitable Trust./p>

La Jolla Playhouse Education and Outreach programs are supported by corporate sponsors Qualcomm Foundation, US Bank, San Diego Gas & Electric, Bank of America, Cox Communications, Union Bank of California, ResMed Foundation, Allianz Global Investors, Macy’s Foundation, Morrison & Foerster Foundation, Neiman Marcus, Nordson Corporation Foundation and the Employees Community Fund of Boeing California. Foundation support provided by The William Hall Tippett and Ruth Rathell Tippett Foundation, Las Patronas, Sidney E. Frank Foundation, Ellen Browning Scripps Foundation, San Diego Scottish Rite Community Foundation, The Farrell Family Foundation, The Favrot Fund, The Crawford Smith Foundation, The Seth Sprague Educational and Charitable Foundation, Price Philanthropies, Samuel I. and John Henry Fox Foundation, The Sutherland Foundation, The Arthur and Jeanette Pratt Memorial Fund and La Jolla Kiwanis Foundation. Government support provided by the City of San Diego Commission for Arts and Culture, the County of San Diego, City of Chula Vista Performing and Visual Arts Grant and the City of Encinitas and Mizel Family Foundation Community Grant Program.